Bespoke Excellence

Our Collections

Diamond Education

Although this is a new experience for most people, that doesn't mean it has to be confusing or overwhelming. Understanding the diamond quality characteristics is extremely simple.

To understand the diamond quality characteristics is to understand the 4 C's.

  1. Cut
  2. Colour
  3. Clarity
  4. Carat Weight

The quality characteristics have been put in order of importance.

The cut of a diamond determines it's power to reflect light. Simply put, it determines the sparkle of the stone and it is the only one of the 4 C's directly influenced by hand as the other three are determined by mother nature.
Click here for more information

Cut also refers to the diamonds shape.
Click here for more information

With D being the highest grade and Z being the lowest, the ideal colour is the total absence of colour. As the colour drops below a H grade you will begin to see a slight yellow tint on the stone.
Click here for more information

Almost all diamonds contain tiny inclusions, these tiny inclusions and referred to as flaws. They are non-crystallised carbon or small non diamond crystals. 
Diamonds without inclusions are exceptionally rare and receive the highest clarity grades.

Click here for more information

Carat Weight
Carat is a specific weight measure used for diamonds and other gem stones. One carat (1.00ct) weights 200 milligrams (1/5 of a gram) and is divided into 100 points, so that a diamond of 25 points (0.25pts) is described as a quarter carat, and 50 points (0.50pts) is described as half a carat.
Click here for more information

Copyright © Matthew David London, 2022. All Rights Reserved. All 3rd party trademarks are hereby acknowledged.

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Sitemaps